top of page

genealogical research

Have you always wondered who your ancestors are? We'll find out for you. We put a lot of attention on scientific research methods and evidence. With over 30 years of experience, Aicher, Nobs und Wieland GmbH (formerly büro aicher) is the oldest active genealogy office in Switzerland.

 

Family research or genealogy is the reconstruction of the line of descent of a specific person, usually with the aim of visualizing a family tree from the data obtained. For years before 1876, church registers are the central source for obtaining this data. In most Swiss and German localities, church records date back to the late 16th or early 17th century. From 1876 onwards, the church books were replaced by the registers of the civil registry offices. Finding and preparing this data can be very labor intensive.

We take over:

  • extensive genealogical research.

  • Selective research in places where you cannot get any further with your own research.

  • genealogical analyzes for a problem. You can then carry out the steps yourself.

  • genealogical reports for courts. 

  • House research in the canton of Zurich.

Prices: 

Our hourly rate is Chf. 90.- per hour. If visits to archives are necessary, we charge a lower rate of 60.- per hour for travel time. The travel route is always calculated from Zurich.

Whenever possible we try to combine travel times for small orders to help spread costs.

What is genealogy?
Genealogy is the foreign word for family history research. Colloquially, one also speaks of genealogical research or family research. The latter term is misleading, because family research is also a branch of ethnology in which the development of family structures through history (e.g. age at marriage, rules of naming) is generally examined. The individual family plays no role in this. On the other hand, genealogy as a historical auxiliary science deals with a specific family and its members. At the heart of genealogy is proving one person's descent from another (called a filiation). The research has both personal and factual aspects:

Personally

In terms of the individuals involved, a lineage is just one of many. We are dealing with an infinite network of related people that began in ancient times and never ends: mother, father, grandparents, great-grandparents, children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, siblings, first and second cousins. You cannot avoid narrowing down your research interest: to a specific research direction, a research region, a specific number of generations or a specific topic. For example, many customers are primarily interested in the eponymous lineage, while others prefer a more diversified family tree. A lack of sources often draws a line. When someone wants to hire a genealogist, research is limited by financial resources. When it comes to an assignment in particular, it is therefore good to clarify where and how far you want to go.

Thorough

From a factual perspective, ancestry is the focus and is researched using core genealogical data. These are sometimes absolutely necessary in order to be able to provide proof of descent: surnames, first names, dates of birth, marriage and death are recorded. For the time when birth and death were not yet recorded in the sources, these dates are replaced by those of baptism and burial, respectively, which are recorded by the churches. In addition to this core data, further information about the persons is recorded. These are usually not absolutely necessary for research, but serve to complete the picture. This includes information on places of residence, religious affiliation, professions, offices, pictures of people, etc...

This research can be expanded to successive levels and supplemented with further information, for example on real estate, diseases, causes of death, hobbies, pets, tax data, contracts and delinquencies. You are actually moving further and further away from pure genealogy towards biographical research. However, it is precisely this additional information that brings the proverbial meat to the bones of a dry data structure. The further you go, the more complex the research becomes. And one increasingly has to deal with types of sources in which the entire population is no longer recorded, but only a few parts: certain data can be found about people who had a lot of property or were delinquent. If you hire a genealogist, you have to know that the search for this information often remains unsuccessful despite a long search, because the person you are looking for simply does not appear in the source. This is very rarely the case with the genealogical core data mentioned first, because the sources in this country are fairly complete, but with more specific additional information, the recording is extremely incomplete.

relationship concept

There is one more question that needs to be clarified at the beginning: Which concept of descent do I use as a basis? The biological or the legal? An adopted child descends legally from the adoptive parents and biologically from the birth parents. There is no compelling choice for one or the other. You just have to be clear about what you're researching. DNA testing is useful for biological ancestry, but it gives a rough picture of ethnicity rather than individual ancestry. In historical genealogy, on the other hand, only what is in the sources can be recorded. This means that if, for example, a false father was recorded in the historical sources, this will also be the case in the research results. Both approaches have advantages and disadvantages.

research directions

Ascendancy (ancestors)

For those who are interested in their own origins and would like to receive information about their own ancestors, the research direction of ascendancy is ideal.

The ascendants or ancestors are the direct ancestors of a person, i.e. according to strict mathematical laws 2 parents, 4 grandparents, 8 great-grandparents, 16 great-great-grandparents, etc. Since everyone has two parents, the mathematical number of ancestors doubles with each generation. So, mathematically speaking, the number increases as a power of two. 
If you go back far enough, you get theoretical numbers that exceed the actual population. From this it can be seen that after a few generations the same people must appear several times as ancestors. This is completely natural and has nothing to do with incest as the individual couples are very distantly related to each other. This phenomenon is called ancestral implex.

The person from whom a genealogical research is based is referred to as a subject. Anyone who conducts research for themselves will usually start with themselves or their children. However, there is always research into the ancestors of famous people, and professional genealogists such as the team at Aicher, Nobs and Wieland GmbH research the families of their customers.

Since research can also become endless with the doubling of the number of ancestors in each generation, some only research certain lines. Research into the eponymous line (usually the purely male line) or the female line is particularly popular. Genealogical research is presented in an ancestral list or pictorially in the pedigree table, which in turn can be sober or artistically decorated.

descent (descendants)

Anyone who is more interested in getting to know collateral relatives or all bearers of a (rare) surname is better off focusing on the research direction of descent.

The descendants or descendants of a person are all children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, etc. of a subject. While genealogical research mostly selects the subject in the present, descendant research makes more sense for someone who lived in the past. Since, in contrast to the number of ancestors, there is no regularity in the number of descendants, with this type of research you never know whether the research is complete or whether there were other, unknown children. While an ascension never ends (there is no person without parents), descent ends when there are no more descendants. 

Research into the descendants of famous personalities, such as Emperor Charlemagne or St. Nicholas Von Der Flüe, is popular. Anyone who conducts family research for himself will start from a test person from whom he himself descends and who may be of particular interest to him. Again, there are popular limitations, such as only researching those descendants that passed the name on, or those descended from the subject's sons (all-male lineage). Then one no longer speaks of descendant research, but of stem research. 

Descendant research is presented in a descendant list or graphically in a descendant table. If this is decorative and includes only the descendants in the male line, one speaks of a family tree.

mixed forms

Of course, you can combine both research directions as you like. For example, one can research all of one's ancestors up to the 16 great-great-grandparents and then use these as test subjects to search for all descendants. In this way, a complex network is obtained, which can sometimes be difficult to represent graphically. Attempts to do this are referred to as kinship tables or clan tables.

Of course, genealogical research gives a more comprehensive picture of the life of the ancestors if they record not only the child who passed on the genes to the subject, but all children. It is therefore usually advisable to list their siblings in addition to the direct ancestors. This is sometimes also necessary to clearly document the filiation. We therefore expressly recommend including siblings of the ancestors.

special forms

In principle, a whole range of special shapes is also possible. The best thing to do is to contact our team directly and describe your research interests. We would be happy to advise you and show you possible research directions for your specific case.

Anker 1
Anker 2
Anker 3
Anker 4
bottom of page

Familienforschung

Haben Sie sich schon immer gefragt, wer Ihre Vorfahren sind? Wir finden es für Sie heraus. Dabei legen wir grossen Wert auf wissenschaftliche Arbeitsweise und Beweisführung. Mit über 30 Jahren Erfahrung ist die Aicher, Nobs und Wieland GmbH (ehemals das Büro Aicher) das älteste aktive Genealogiebüro in der Schweiz.

 

Familienforschung beziehungsweise Genealogie ist die Rekonstruktion der Abstammungslinie einer bestimmten Person, meist mit dem Ziel, aus den gewonnenen Daten einen Stammbaum zu visualisieren. Bis 1876 bilden Kirchenbücher die zentrale Quelle zur Gewinnung dieser Daten. In den meisten Schweizer und deutschen Ortschaften reichen die Kirchenbücher zurück bis ins späte 16. oder frühe 17. Jahrhundert zurück. Ab 1876 wurden die Kirchenbücher durch die Register der Zivilstandsämter abgelöst. Das Finden und Aufbereiten dieser Daten kann sehr arbeitsintensiv sein.

Wir übernehmen:

  • umfassende genealogische Forschungen.

  • punktuelle Forschungen an Stellen, an denen Sie mit ihrer Forschung selbst nicht weiter kommen.

  • genealogische Analysen für eine Problemstellung. Sie können die Schritte dann selbst durchführen.

  • genealogische Gutachten für Gerichte. 

  • Häuserforschung im Kanton Zürich.

Preise: 

Für unsere Arbeit berechnen wir einen Stundenansatz von 95 Schweizer Franken (excl. MwSt.). In vielen Fällen ist eine Recherche auch online. Für die Fahrtzeit zu den Archiven berechnen wir einen veringerten Stundenansatz von 60 Schweizer Franken.

Wenn immer möglich, versuchen wir die Reisezeiten für kleine Aufträge zu kombinieren, um so die Kosten aufzuteilen.

Was ist Genealogie?
Genealogie ist das Fremdwort für Familiengeschichtsforschung. Umgangssprachlich spricht man auch von Ahnenforschung oder Familienforschung. Letzterer Begriff ist missverständlich, denn Familienforschung ist auch ein Zweig der Ethnologie, in dem generell die Entwicklung von Familienstrukturen durch die Geschichte (z.B. Heiratsalter, Regeln der Namensgebung) untersucht wird. Dabei spielt die einzelne Familie keine Rolle. Die Genealogie als historische Hilfswissenschaft befasst sich hingegen mit einer konkreten Familie und ihren Mitgliedern. Im Zentrum der Genealogie steht der Nachweis der Abstammung einer Person von einer anderen (Filiation genannt). Die Forschung hat sowohl persönliche als auch sachliche Aspekte:

Persönlich

In Bezug auf die betroffenen Personen ist eine Abstammungslinie jeweils nur eine von vielen. Wir haben es mit einem unendlichen Netzwerk von miteinander verwandten Personen zu tun, welches vor Urzeiten begann und nie endet: Mutter, Vater, Grosseltern, Urgrosseltern, Kinder, Enkel, Urenkel, Geschwister, Cousinen und Cousins ersten und weiterer Grade. Man kommt nicht umhin, sein Forschungsinteresse einzugrenzen: Auf eine bestimmte Forschungsrichtung, eine Forschungsregion, eine bestimmte Anzahl an Generationen oder ein bestimmtes Thema. Viele Kunden interessieren sich beispielsweise primär für die namensgebende Linie, während andere einen breiter gefächerten Stammbaum bevorzugen. Oft ziehen fehlende Quellen eine Grenze. Wenn jemand einen Genealogen beauftragen will, ist die Forschung durch finanzielle Ressourcen begrenzt. Gerade bei einem Auftrag ist es daher gut, für sich zu klären, wohin und wie weit man gehen will.

Sachlich

Aus sachlicher Perspektive steht die Abstammung im Mittelpunkt und wird anhand von genealogischen Kerndaten erforscht. Diese sind teilweise zwingend notwenig um den Nachweis der Abstammung führen zu können: Namen, Vornamen, Geburts-, Heirats- und Sterbedaten werden erfasst. Für die Zeit, als Geburt und Tod noch nicht in den Quellen festgehalten wurden, werden diese Daten durch diejenigen zur Taufe respektive der Beerdigung ersetzt, welche von den Kirchen aufgezeichnet wurden. Neben diesen Kerndaten werden weitere Informationen zu den Personen erfasst. Diese sind üblicherweise nicht zwingend für die Forschung nötig, sondern dienen zur Vervollständigung des Bildes. Dazu gehören etwa Angaben zu Wohnorten, Religionszugehörigkeit, Berufen, Ämtern, Abbildungen der Personen, etc...

Man kann diese Forschung auf immer weitere Stufen ausweiten und durch weitere Informationen, beispielsweise zu Grundbesitz, Krankheiten, Sterbeursachen, Hobbies, Haustieren, Steuerdaten, Verträgen und Straffälligkeiten, ergänzen. Man bewegt sich damit eigentlich immer weiter weg von der reinen Genealogie, hin zur Biographieforschung. Doch genau diese Zusatzinformationen bringen jedoch das sprichwörtliche Fleisch an die Knochen eines dürren Datengerüsts. Je weiter man geht, umso aufwändiger wird die Forschung. Und man hat zunehmend mit Quellengattungen zu tun, in denen nicht mehr die ganze Bevölkerung erfasst wird, sondern nur noch wenige Teile: Gewisse Daten findet man über menschen, die viel Besitz hatten oder delinquent waren. Wenn man einen Genealogen beauftragt muss man wissen, dass man der der Suche nach diesen Informationen oftmals trotz langer Suche erfolglos bleibt, weil die gesuchte Person in der Quelle einfach nicht erscheint. Bei den zuerst erwähnten genealogischen Kerndaten ist dies sehr selten der Fall, weil die Quellen hierzulande ziemlich vollständig sind, bei spezielleren Zusatzinformationen hingegen ist die Erfassung äusserst lückenhaft.

Verwandtschaftsbegriff

Es gibt noch eine Frage, die am Anfang zu klären ist: Welchen Begriff der Abstammung lege ich zugrunde? Die biologische oder rechtliche? Ein Adoptivkind stammt rechtlich von den Adoptiveltern und biologisch von den leiblichen Eltern ab. Es gibt keine zwingende Wahl für das eine oder andere. Man muss sich einfach klar sein, was man erforscht. Für die biologische Abstammung bieten sich DNA-Tests ab, diese geben einem aber eher ein grobes Bild zur ethnischen Abstammung, nicht zu den individuellen Vorfahren. In der historischen Genealogie hingegen kann nur das erfasst werden, was in den Quellen steht. Heisst, wenn beispielsweise in den historischen Quellen ein falscher Vater erfasst wurde, wird dies auch in den Forschungsresultaten der Fall sein. Beide Herangehensweisen haben Vor- und Nachteile.

Forschungsrichtungen

Aszendenz (Ahnen)

Wer an der eigenen Herkunft interessiert ist und Informationen über die eigenen Vorfahren erhalten möchte, für den bietet sich die Forschungsrichtung der Aszendenz an.

Die Aszendenten oder Ahnen sind die direkten Vorfahren einer Person, also nach streng mathematischen Gesetzen 2 Eltern, 4 Grosseltern, 8 Urgrosseltern, 16 Ururgrosseltern, etc. Da jeder zwei Eltern hat, verdoppelt sich die rechnerische Zahl der Ahnen mit jeder Generation. Die Zahl wächst also, mathematisch ausgedrückt, als Zweierpotenz. 
Wenn man weit genug zurück geht, erhält man theoretische Zahlen, welche die tatsächliche Bevölkerungszahl überschreiten. Daraus ist ersichtlich, dass nach einigen Generationen dieselben Personen mehrmals als Vorfahren auftauchen müssen. Das ist völlig selbstverständlich und hat nichts mit Inzest zu tun, da die individuellen Paare jeweils sehr weit entfernt miteinander verwandt sind. Dieses Phänomen nennt man Ahnenimplex.

Die person, von der eine Ahnenforschung ausgeht, bezeichnet man als Proband. Wer selbst Forschungen für sich betreibt, wird in der Regel von sich oder seinen Kindern ausgehen. Es wird aber auch immer wieder etwa nach Ahnen von berühmten Menschen geforscht und professionelle Genealogen wie das Team der Aicher, Nobs und Wieland GmbH erforschen die Familien ihrer Kunden.

Da mit der Verdoppelung der Ahnenzahl in jeder Generation die Forschung ebenfalls uferlos werden kann, erforschen manche nur bestimmte Linien. Besonders beliebt ist z.B. die Forschung nach der namensgebenden Linie (also in der Regel die rein männliche) oder die nach der weiblichen Linie. Die Darstellung einer Ahnenforschung erfolgt in einer Ahnenliste oder Bildhaft in der Ahnentafel, die wiederum nüchtern oder künstlerisch ausgeschmückt sein kann.

Deszendenz (Nachkommen)

Wer eher daran interessiert ist, Seitenverwandte oder alle Träger eines (seltenen) Familiennamens kennen zu lernen, fokussiert sich besser auf die Forschungsrichtung der Deszendenz.

Die Deszendenten oder Nachkommen einer Person sind alle Kinder, Enkel, Urenkel, etc. eines Probanden. Während die Ahnenforschung den Probanden meist in der Gegenwart wählt, macht eine Nachkommenforschung eher für jemanden Sinn, der in der Vergangenheit lebte. Da es im Gegensatz zur Anzahl Vorfahren keine Regelmässigkeit bei der Anzahl Nachkommen gibt, weiss man bei dieser Forschungsrichtung nie, ob die Forschung vollständig ist oder vielleicht weitere, unbekannte Kinder vorhanden waren. Während eine Aszension nie endet (es gibt keine Person ohne Eltern), endet die Deszendenz dann, wenn keine weiteren Nachkommen vorhanden sind. 

Beliebt ist die Erforschung der Nachkommen berühmter Persönlichkeiten, z.B. von Kaiser Karl dem Grossen oder dem Heiligen Niklaus Von Der Flüe. Wer für sich selbst Familienforschung betreibt, wird von einem Probanden ausgehen, von dem er selbst abstammt und der ihn vielleicht besonders interessiert. Auch hier gibt es beliebte Beschränkungen, z.B. dass man nur diejenigen Nachkommen erforscht, die den Namen weitergegeben haben, oder diejenigen, die von Söhnen des Probanden abstammen (rein männliche Linie). Dann spricht man nicht mehr von Nachfahrenforschung, sondern von Stammforschung. 

Die Darstellung einer Nachfahrenforschung erfolgt in einer Nachfahrenliste oder bildhaft in einer Nachfahrentafel. Wird diese schmuckhaft ausgestaltet und umfasst sie nur die Nachkommen in männlicher Linie, spricht man von einem Stammbaum.

Mischformen

Man kann natürlich beide Forschungsrichtungen beliebig kombinieren. Z.B. kann man alle seine Ahnen bis zu den 16 Ururgrosseltern erforschen und dann von diesen als Probanden ausgehend wieder alle Nachkommen suchen. Auf diese Weise erhält man ein komplexes Geflecht, das sich graphisch unter umständen schwer darstellen lässt. Versuche hierzu werden als Verwandtschaftstafeln oder Sippschaftstafeln bezeichnet.

Bei der Ahnenforschung ergibt sich natürlich ein umfassenderes Bild über das Leben der Ahnen, wenn von ihnen nicht nur das Kind aufgezeichnet wird, welches die Gene zum Probanden weitergereicht hat, sondern alle Kinder. Deswegen bietet es sich üblicherweise an, neben den direkten Vorfahren auch deren Geschwister zu verzeichnen. Dies ist manchmal auch notwendig um die Filiation eindeutig zu belegen. Wir empfehlen daher ausdrücklich den Miteinbezug von Geschwistern der Vorfahren.

Sonderformen

Grundsätzlich ist auch eine ganze Reihe von Sonderformen möglich. Am besten kontaktieren Sie unser Team einfach direkt und beschreiben Ihr Forschungsanliehen. Wir beraten Sie gerne und zeigen Ihnen die möglichen Forschungsrichtungen für ihren spezifischen Fall.